The New Guy

23 Jul

Sorry to have abandoned you for just a bit, but it turns out that things have gotten a little more crazy than I had anticipated in my last post.  I had a birthday, have to find new work and just in general being a busy little bee. So, now things are finally getting back on track.

Seeing as my department was downsized, I now join the ranks of millions of others in the unemployed boat. I am trying to see it as an opportunity, but it its remarkably hard.

I was thinking about the whole situation earlier in movie terms. Bear with me here…It’s a pretty apt scenario. Everyone of course wants to think of themselves a main character in their own lives, but how do you really know? And then a scene from Galaxy Quest popped into my head. (It’s a fun movie!)  One of the characters has a constant fear of impending doom because he is “the new guy”. And everyone knows, something bad always happens to the new guy.

GalaxyQuest– photo courtesy of Google

But everyone has to be the new guy sooner or later in order to gain the confidence and knowledge the main character has.  And I keep being told that my moment is coming, just be patient. And while this is all good advice-it’s hard. Then I got this sweet message in my inbox this morning from this fun site.

 It’s kind of strange, Grace, but first you have to know what you want, defined in terms of the end result. And then you have to physically move towards it, without defining the hows. 

At which point, the thing you want actually starts coming to you, on its own terms, from a direction completely unexpected. 

Not unlike a cat, 
    The Universe

I guess you can hear something a million times, and then one day it just clicks. I may be the new guy right now, but my prized role may be right around the corner :)

Leave a Reply

