My First DIY project

21 Aug

With all me new found free time, I’ve been a busy little blogger. One thing that has caught my eye as of late has been crafty projects. I saw a really great one on Cupcakes and Cashmere. It’s a great little project for a floating vase, and it seemed simple enough that even a newbie like myself could handle it. I made a few variations that I’ve noted and will point out along the way. But here we go :)

If you want to try it, you’re gonna need a piece of wood, wire (i recommend steel gage. I tried it first with regular kind and it didn’t hold) a clean jar (this was for peanut butter) and a flower.

I found a scrap piece of wood in the garage and coated it in some primer. After it dried, I added a hanger to the back. The other tutorial showed it hanging from some wire. I wanted to give it the feel that it was actually floating.  I drilled 2 holes an appropriate distance apart, in order to hang the jar. Wrapped the wire several times underneath the lip of the jar.

 

 

I wasn’t too thrilled with the paint, so I added some Martha Stewart crackle paint on top. Even though I couldn’t quite make it crackle the way I wanted to, it definitely added a nice rustic touch.

 

Once it’s all dried and ready to roll, you can place the wire through the holes and twist tightly.

 

 

Seeing as I was a little concerned this may not hold, I hung it over a carpeted area for 2 days and it’s still holding strong. I wouldn’t recommend anything too heavy inside, but a small flower was a sweet addition.

 

Happy Creating!

 

One Response to “My First DIY project”

  1. Nicole (@unoriginal524) August 22, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    Looks adorable!

Leave a Reply

