Road trip!

1 Sep

I had a pretty awesome weekend with some great people. I’ve been looking into  graduate schools and Florida State is pretty high on the list. I was invited to their Lit open house, so I thought it was a good time to hit the road and see what’s what. It’s hard to believe that it’s a almost a 7 hour drive up to Tallahassee (Florida is a crazy huge state!) But with a short stop in Tampa to visit my lovely college roommate, ( and a visit to my favorite tea store) I was ready to roll.

Tallahassee is a really fun city with a lot to do. I got to channel my creative side with Painting with a Twist. It’s a painting studio with great instructors that dole out a lot of helpful instruction and much needed moral support. After 2 hours I was able to make this:

I’m no artist. But it’s a good time.

And you can drink wine! It’s encouraged actually.

Now, that’s my kind of art :)

I also went to Maclay Gardens. Unfortunately, it’s August in Florida so naturally it’s hotter than the 7th circle of hell. But on the bright side I was the only one there and it was really beautiful.

Anna and I ventured a short way off to Wakulla Springs.

We went on a boat ride through the spring. I’ve always lived near the ocean, so it was pretty neat to see a different body of water. (It’s absolutely freezing!) Here are just a couple things we saw.

Kinda looks like my painting, huh?

Alligator!

Enjoying the view

Manatee!

Poor "Old Joe"

It was a fabulous weekend adventure and I hope to get back up to N. Florida again soon.

Leave a Reply

