Enough’s Enough

3 Dec

So, I’m sure you’ve seen this by now, but it’s the Daniel Craig thoughts on the Kardashian’s lifestyle. My personal opinions aside, which are eerily similar to Mr. Craig’s, it felt like a warm wash of reason. Don’t get me wrong, we are the information age. But, seriously? When people start to question if your butt is real, don’t you think it might be the wrong kind of publicity? But this excerpt from Daniel Craig in the British GQ i think says it best.

“It is a career; I’m not being cynical. And why wouldn’t you? Look at the Kardashians, they’re worth millions.

Millions! I don’t think they were that badly off to begin with, but now look at them. You see that and you

think, ‘What, you mean all I have to do is behave like a f*cking idiot on television and then you’ll pay me millions?'”

This is not to say that I have banned all reality shows. I for one, think Jersey Shore is hilarious. But that’s not reality- it’s  in a universe far, far away with “people”  doing irreparable damage to their livers.  And I love Amazing Race- but only for the travel, of course.

But sometimes I do wonder whether this whole reality thing has gotten outta control. Do we really need so many shows devoted to cupcakes? And singing? And a whole lot of Desperate Housewives?

But nonetheless, it does seem that people are getting so much money for doing nothing. Famous for being famous. I couldn’t do it, it’s too much pressure to be constantly interesting. Have you noticed that these “reality” families don’t have off hair days or stand in line in the post office? Yeah, whose reality are they in? Not mine.

But I think at the heart of Daniel Craig’s article was that fame is tricky. You can’t have it both ways, you either have to let everybody in or keep ’em all out. A list stars know this and it helps them keep their lasting fame. Keep the mystery! It makes you way more interesting than showing all your bits at a Dr. appointment on TV.

The same could be said for social media. I made a ham sandwich, but fortunately I’m the only one who cares. So, I’ll be sure to keep that gem of info to myself :)

Leave a Reply

