Where It All Began

5 Dec

Today, I found myself with some serious blogger envy. There are just so many great ideas floating around and I kept catching myself saying, “Oh, that’s such a great name for that”, or ” That’s awesome.” And I suppose impersonation is the greatest form of flattery, but no one wants copy cat stalking either. So I acknowledge the moment and move on. But Danielle Abroad’s blog ( a fantastic blog) struck a cord today because it made me realize something. Her blog became her personal travel journal and took all of us along during her journey. And it hit me like a ton of bricks.

I was envious because I wish I had done the same. I missed an opportunity. I’ve always kept a journal to look back when I’m old and gray, but this seemed different. I absolutely love blogging now and reading what others have to say. It’s a great little community. But the fact that I missed that chance bugs me a bit. I mean we all have regrets. But doesn’t anyone else wish they could see what’s behind doors 1, 2, and 3 before making their choice?

I almost didn’t even go on my first semester abroad to England. The nerves hit hard and I wasn’t going to step one foot on that plane. But my voice of reason (mom) convinced me otherwise. I decided it was going to be an adventure and I wouldn’t get another opportunity like this again.(Luckily, I was wrong. I’ve gotten a lot of chances).  With that, I was a changed woman. During that time away I became more outspoken, confident and poised than I had ever been. And, not to toot my own horn too much but I knew a lot of Tube lines by heart :)

Big Ben

White Cliffs of Dover

kissed the blarney stone in Ireland

I was happy to be back in the US, but I was most definitely changed by the experience. I’m now strictly of the “why not?” persuasion and relentless optimistic. And while I didn’t think to share the day to day, the plan came to fruition this year when I made this blog. And even though I’m not currently exploring the world, I do always feel a restless desire pushing me to try. I’m searching for my next opportunity.

I’m also taking part in the 6 Weeks of Bliss Challenge.

2 Responses to “Where It All Began”

  1. annakstern December 9, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    When I was in college I didn’t take the opportunity to travel abroad, and I regretted it later. I try to remember not have regrets because I believe every choice we make helps us learn who we are. When we evaluate our choices up to the present, we can asses what we want to do differently in the future. Keep on growing, that’s the call for ALL OF US! Thank you!

  2. gracedevine December 10, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    That’s a great way of thinking about it. There is always room for change. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

