Tech Savvy

7 Dec

 I didn’t even touch a computer until I was 13, and granted it wasn’t unusual then-it’s super unusual now. My 2 year old cousin is a genius on an iPad! Craziness. And like most things, it has it’s good and bad points. But for the most part, I think it just shows the natural progression of technology. I’m only 24, but I think I’ve been alive during a really exciting period. With the rise of Apple, Bluetooth, and SmartPhones it’s all pretty cool.

I was thinking about it more because I’m enrolling in Library and Information Science graduate school for next year. While I’m not exactly sure where the degree will lead me, a lot of the courses are technology heavy. Just a few years ago, that would scare me silly. I’m not an HTML genius or able to “just know” what’s wrong with a tech product. I’ll always have to do some investigating, but I’m super excited to try.

The Bahamas were a technological godsend. I look back at my time there with great fondness. Those few years gave me an extra little bit of childhood. I spent the time playing outside, in the ocean, at recess, reading, playing with friends. The computer was this big thing in hallway. It made funny noises.

After we moved here, I felt a little behind. Everyone seemed to already have more than basic knowledge of computers. It was really daunting and I let my frustration get the better of me a lot of the time. But it was one of those scenarios where you “fake it til you make it.” It took a while, but I didn’t have to pretend anymore. I knew what to do and when. Now, I can do more than I ever thought I could. It just took patience (I’m still working on this one). But, what to do when my beloved techie products refuse to work?

I read a book.

My next review coming soon! :)

{All photos courtesy weheartit}

Leave a Reply

