My Best Vacation

14 Dec

As you can probably tell by now, I’m more or less always thinking about travel. Honestly, if a plane ticket fell from the sky I would grab it and go. But this week, I was reminded of my “best vacation”. During college I went on a month long trip. It was considered a study abroad program, but it was more of a spiritual retreat to Greece, Turkey, and Egypt. I visited monasteries, museums and even got to meet cloistered Greek Orthodox nuns. It was an unbelievable experience.

Meteora, Greece

 

 

Whirling Dervishes in Turkey

 

The last leg of the trip was Mount Sinai in Egypt. I would highly recommend this to everyone, both religious and overall spiritual. Mt. Sinai is where Moses received the 10 Commandments from God. Granted, the tip was strenuous, it took us about two hours to get to the top. You can have a camel take you part of the way, but you have to hike most of it. Some of the group opted to do a sunrise walk, while I chose to go during sunset.

 

Strangely, there was something about being up that high, made me feel more grounded. My beliefs aside, you can’t help feel connected on that hallowed ground. There was a comfortable silence on the mountain, no din, no rumble or chatter. It was beautiful. And the stars! They were so bright, I felt like I could touch them.  I do love some hustle and bustle- but it’s nice to know these places exist, and I would go back in a heartbeat.

 

{post inspired by #6weeksofbliss}

Leave a Reply

