Whatcha’ Reading?

23 Dec

As a lit student, I’m always super nosy about what people are reading. I love those “top 10 summer reads” lists or  glancing to see the cover of the book the person next to me at the dr.’s office or airport. I am always on the hunt for the next great book. And for that matter, I think asking someone their favorite book is very revealing.

I used to say my favorite book has always been “To Kill a Mockingbird” by Harper Lee. It’s actually the first book I remember being completely engulfed in, not being able to put it down. That being said, I’m a bit embarrassed that I haven’t read it in years. Can I still call it my favorite if I can’t remember all of it? Like I said, kinda embarrassing.But that is being rectified. I bought a pretty, new copy on sale from Barnes & Noble and I’m savoring it all over again.

There are several other books I’m excited to start on as well. And I’d like to thank goodreads for its help. This website is kinda like Netflix in that it will give you suggestions based on ratings you have given books you read. The virtual bookshelf helps you see what genres you tend to pick up most often and so far the suggestions have been pretty spot on. To keep you guys in the loop, I’ve included a widget on the sidebar to let you know what I’m enjoying at the moment. As a book nerd, I’m pretty excited. It’s like having your own personal book club: you can organize your bookshelf, get suggestions and even leave reviews. Time to get reading :)

courtesy of weheartit.com

5 Responses to “Whatcha’ Reading?”

  1. bibliopirate December 23, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

    I just started The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

    • gracedevine December 24, 2011 at 5:08 am #

      I read the synopsis for it and it looks awesome. I added it to my read list. Thanks for the tip!

  2. Ink Smith December 24, 2011 at 2:45 am #

    As a FORMER Lit student (I’ve long since graduated), I completely understand your interest in what people are reading.

    Currently, I’m about halfway into a collection of short stories called “Songs of Love and Death”. Then, I plan to re-read six other books (none of major literary heft, I’m afraid) before this year ends.

    May I ask which books you’re raring to start on? I’d like to know what kind of reading material the Lit students like reading nowadays.

    • gracedevine December 24, 2011 at 5:23 am #

      Even though I did graduate last year, I think reading discussions are so ingrained in us, it never goes away. I love talking about it! I’m sort of taking my advantage of my free time now and trying books outside my usual picks.
      I’ve pretty much always been all about classics or best sellers. So now I wanna try something new like crime/thrillers. They’ve never really caught my eye before, but I’m pretty sure I’ll always come back to the classics from school. And your short story collection sounds interesting,I’ll have to check it out.
      Thanks!

      • Ink Smith December 30, 2011 at 5:05 am #

        I know what you mean about books outside of your usual picks – sometimes reading something you’re not used to reading actually makes literary discussions even more fun. Since I’m a big fan of Fish and Iser, I get a really big kick out of figuring out how I and other readers react to the work based on our own experiences; and the best way to go about discussing that is to read something totally new.

        I’m thinking of getting into detective stories set in fantasy worlds this year, like the Thursday Next series (Fforde) and The Dresden Files (Butcher). :) That being said, it’s always nice to come home to the mainstays.

        PS: There are so many writing styles used in that short story collection, I’m sure you’ll find something you’ll enjoy. :) Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

