Migraine Tips

5 Feb

Hi all.

I’ve touched on this subject before, but in way it bears repeating because it can very well be the bane of an existence: Migraines. According to the Migraine Research Foundation, over 10% of the population have migraines. More specifically, almost 1 in 4 households include someone with migraines. That’s pretty crazy. And of course, they’re hereditary. I have a strong maternal history that goes waayyy back. I’ve had migraines since I was four, but (luckily?) my mom saw her toddler screaming bloody murder holding her head and knew exactly what it was.

Experts always tell you that the best way to know something is hands on experience, so after 20 years of migraines I feel pretty confident in what I know. Here are a couple of tips that I hope can make this rotten pain a bit more manageable.

1)Standard protocol calls for a bed in a  dark, silent room. However, I sometimes find that having a little bit of noise makes all the difference. I really hate being able to hear my own heartbeat reverberate in my head, so having something else to focus on is essential. I’ll usually turn the tv on really low or channel my breathing.

2) Speaking of breathing… super important. I used to try to hold my breath so it wouldn’t hurt so badly. (Definitely a bad idea) Instead, try meditative breathing. I breathe deeply in as the throbbing starts and has the pain subsides, I exhale slowly. It takes some practice but I find this especially helpful while waiting for some medicine to kick in.

3) I use an eye mask. Any kind will do, but they’re awesome. It blocks out the light and having something slightly tight around my head helps.

Sleep Mask

4) Ice packs. Placing them across the forehead and behind the neck provides a bit of a shock to the system and provides a bit of relief. I love this brand, Be Kool. They have an adhesive back, so they stick to your forehead. It eliminates some of the hassle of a damp washcloth or a hard cold pack and I find it works just as well.

5) And lastly, caffeine. In any form you see fit- soda, coffee, chocolate. Be careful with this one because I’ve had my fair share of caffeine withdrawal headaches and sometimes they’re just as bad as migraines.

 Care for migraines is pretty standard but I hope some of these tips help. If you have any remedies you find useful, please let me know. I’d be very interested.

Leave a Reply

