Whatcha’ Reading? Pt. II

11 Feb

Sorry for the disappearing act, as of late a lot of things have been happening. All for the better, thankfully! I was admitted into Indiana University for Grad school, applied for a library job (*fingers crossed*), and finally feel like I’m on the right track. It took a while, but things are finally building momentum.

But, with all this good news, I really have neglected reading. It’s bound to happen, right? Something always has to give. I was in the middle of Claire Keegan’s Walk the Blue Fields, but it just couldn’t keep me. I was initially interested after I saw a quick mention from NPR, and quite frankly I had to look everywhere for it that I eventually ordered it from online. I’m about half way through right now. It’s a collection of relatively modern Irish series that are more or less sad. Maybe that’s why I’m having trouble getting into it, or maybe the dialogue… (it’s very heavy irish dialect). I really wanted to love it, and I think I will finish it. That’s the beauty of short stories, you really can abandon it and come back as you please. But I’m just not as enamored as I thought I would be.

Speaking of surprises, I did finally give into a series I was avoiding. The Hunger Games.

Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I couldn’t imagine how a series about children fighting for mass entertainment could be interesting. ( And even now as I type it, it still sounds nuts). But I read it on sooo many Lit recommendations, and boy was I wrong. The author, Suzanne Collins  was able to make this a phenomena, and for good reason. You pull for the good characters, hate the evil ones and challenge what you think you know. (I love a good surprise!) I completed this trilogy in three days. I wanted to drag it out a bit, but honestly couldn’t wait to see what happened next. I won’t share any spoilers here, because I really want you to read and enjoy this series for yourself.

 It’s time to fall for a new read. Any thoughts?

Leave a Reply

